Important Information for Masters Degrees
The University of Divinity has made making significant changes to its Masters degrees on 1 September 2017. These changes are the outcome of the University’s five-yearly review of its Masters degrees, completed in November 2016. There are three key changes:

Award Names 

Award names are being changed to reflect simply and directly the content of awards. Previously, many awards were called “Master of Arts (Specialisation)”. This is being amended for clarity to “Master of Specialisation“. More significantly the present Master of Theological Studies, or MTS, an award only available to students with a BTheol or equivalent, is being renamed the Master of Theology (Coursework), or MTh. Similarly, the present Master of Arts (Theology), or MA(Theol), a first degree in theology for students with a degree in another discipline, is being renamed the Master of Theological Studies, or MTS. These changes are to align UDiv award names with international practice, to ensure graduate qualifications are easily recognised.

Course Learning Outcomes

Course outcomes have been rewritten for all awards, to align with the University’s Course Policy. These course outcomes state the skills and capacities a graduate will achieve on successful completion of the award.

Course Structures

Courses of study are being changed for several awards, to ensure that all possible pathways students may take within an award lead to the course outcomes and, where applicable, any professional accreditation or community recognition.

How will this affect students?

The changes will apply to all new students commencing study at Masters level in 2018, and to all continuing students who do not complete their Masters degrees by the end of 2017. This will contribute to improved recognition of awards, and clearer pathways for achieving course outcomes.

Masters Award names

Previous Award names   Current Award names 
Master of Arts (Theology) 
Master of Theological Studies 
Master of Arts (Biblical Studies)   Master of Biblical Studies 
Master of Arts (Church History)   Master of Church History  
Master of Arts (Pastoral Care)   Master of Pastoral Care 
Master of Arts (Philosophy)   Master of Philosophical Studies 
Master of Arts (Spirituality)   Master of Spirituality 
Master of Theological Studies   Master of Theology (Coursework) 
Master of Philosophy   Master of Philosophy 
Master of Theology   Master of Theology (Research)